And with that, I have completed the journey I have set out on, and there are three models waiting in the Download page.

span_glamour swept_glamour pap_glamour

It’s been an exciting and fun journey, and I can’t say it’s really over. I think I’ll try my hand at creating other things to 3D print as well, as it’s fun to think in three dimensional space.

While I await to get to see and touch the 3D printed versions themselves, I hope that if anyone has stumbled along on this page, then they can say they have learned a thing or two about 3D printing, rapiers, or SketchUp. The fact that you could learn about historical artifacts or cutting edge technology in one place is really fascinating to me, and one of the reasons I think digital history is an interesting field. It’s the exploration of history through technology, but vice versa, as well. Thinking about the artifact, then how to recreate it in software reveals interesting things about the software itself, and I think it’s a great way to learn a new tool.

For those of you who are reading this, I hope you try to do something similar. I began knowing only how to make simple boxes and squares in SketchUp, and I think you can see how much I’ve developed as a SketchUp user by just looking at the progression of quality in the hilts themselves. I’m sure that if I can do it, then anyone can as well, and if you do, I hope that some of the findings I’ve posted here are helpful to you.

I called this a journey, and if that’s what it was, then thank you for coming along with me!

