I’ve finished the Italian Swept Hilt, and as soon as I get confirmation from the 3D Print Operator that it’s printable, I think I’ll add a Gallery and Download page to this blog.

From Wikimedia

From Wikimedia

Meanwhile, it’s time to start work on the third and final style of hilt I want to work on, the Pappenheimer. This style is of a German origin, and rounds off the Spanish and Italian styles previously done. As before, I started the search on Wikimedia to get a picture of a real rapier of this style.

Teardrop Pappenheimer Sword

Teardrop Pappenheimer Sword

Afterwards, I pursued the wider Internet again for an accurate replica with a large amount of measurements available. The source I used for the Italian Swept Hilt style was really good, so I hoped to find something similar. Jackpot!

The styles aren’t identical, but they bear some noteworthy similarities. While they’re not identical, they have similar styles and should be a good base to start work from.

