As part of my evaluation in the University of Waterloo’s Digital History course, I am required to create a final project. For my project, I have chosen to create models of rapier hilts, with the end goal of 3D printing these models to allow historians and non-historians alike to experience the past in a tactile way.

I will be working from references found on wikimedia or on other places in the Internet. To create the 3D models, I will be using SketchUp. And of course, I am using WordPress to run this blog.

The purpose of this blog is to keep track of the ideas, and inevitable issues I have while undertaking this endeavour. In the end, I hope the posts are informative, and ideally can give others who would like to try to recreate historical objects for 3D printing to have some methodology to start from, and knowledge of pitfalls to avoid.

